Inflammatory diseases

Rheumatoid Arthritis; Nr. 105

Anti-CCP can be detected early in the disease's progression. Improving diagnostic testing means that rheumatoid arthritis can be treated at an earlier stage.

Roche conducts intensive research into the causes and progression of inflammatory diseases. Based on the results of this research, we can develop pharmaceuticals that really benefit patients. To treat rheumatoid arthritis, for example, we developed biopharmaceuticals that specifically intervene in the molecular process behind the development of the diseases, without weakening the immune system as a whole. The treatment alleviates pain and holds the disease in check.

The earlier that rheumatoid arthritis can be diagnosed, the greater the chances are of preventing joint damage and avoiding the risk of patients losing mobility. Roche has developed a reliable diagnostic test for early detection.

Rheumatoid arthritis – a diagnostic test for early detection and treatment selection

The anti-CCP test enables a diagnosis of rheumatoid arthritis during the earliest stages of the disease. As a result, this chronic inflammatory auto-immune disease can be stopped in its tracks as early as possible.

For patients who do not respond to basic treatment or to treatment with TNF-alpha inhibitors, the anti-CCP test allows doctors to recommend a different course of treatment. If the test is positive, treatment with MabThera is likely to be successful. The compound MabThera, developed by Roche, neutralizes the harmful effects of the white blood cells that are produced by the extreme response of the immune system in auto-immune diseases.

The anti-CCP test measures whether the patient's blood contains antibodies against citrullinated proteins. These proteins, in which the amino acid arginine has been converted into citrulline, play a key role in the development of rheumatoid arthritis.

Entzündungskrankheiten

Rheumatoide Arthritis; Nr. 105

Anti-CCP lassen sich früh im Verlauf der Erkrankung feststellen. Die Verbesserung der Diagnostik führt dazu, dass die Rheumatoide Arthritis früher therapiert werden kann.


Roche erforscht intensiv die Ursachen und den Verlauf von Entzündungskrankheiten. Aufgrund dieser Forschungsergebnisse konnten Medikamente entwickelt werden, die für die Patienten einen echten Benefit bedeuten. So wurden zur Behandlung der rheumatoiden Arthritis Biopharmazeutika entwickelt, die gezielt in den molekularen Prozess der Krankheitsentstehung eingreifen – ohne das Immunsystem als ganzes zu schwächen. Die Therapie lindert die Schmerzen und hält die Krankheit in Schach.

Je früher die rheumatoide Arthritis diagnostiziert wird, umso besser können Gelenkschäden und damit eine drohende Invalidität verhindert werden. Für die Früherkennung hat Roche einen verlässlichen diagnostischen Test entwickelt.

Rheumatoide Arthritis – Ein diagnostischer Test für Früherkennung und Therapieempfehlung

Mit dem Anti-CCP-Test lässt sich die rheumatoide Arthritis bereits im Frühstadium diagnostizieren. So kann ein Fortschreiten dieser chronisch entzündlichen Autoimmunerkrankung so früh wie möglich gestoppt werden.

Bei Patienten, die nicht auf die Basistherapie und auch nicht auf die Behandlung mit TNF-alpha Hemmern ansprechen, gibt der Anti-CCP-Test dem Arzt auch eine Therapieempfehlung an die Hand: Ist der Test positiv, ist eine Behandlung mit MabThera erfolgversprechend. Das von Roche entwickelte Präparat MabThera macht jene weißen Blutkörperchen unschädlich, die die überschießende Reaktion des Immunsystems bei Autoimmunerkrankungen fördern.

Der Anti-CCP-Test misst, ob im Patientenblut Antikörper gegen citrullinierte Proteine vorhanden sind. Diese Proteine, bei denen die Aminosäure Arginin in Citrullin umgewandelt ist, spielen bei der Entstehung der rheumatoiden Arthritis eine wichtige Rolle.