Metabolic disorders

Accu Chek; Nr. 112

When it comes to developing new products, the devil is often in the detail. Researchers from Mannheim and Penzberg collaborated to successfully solve a "problem" with the latest generation of blood glucose meters.

Vitamin D; Nr. 113

Vitamin D deficiency contributes to the development of various diseases. Roche has developed an innovative test for the early detection of vitamin D deficiency, which can therefore prevent the occurrence of secondary diseases.

Metabolic disturbances can lead to a wide range of diseases, such as diabetes, arteriosclerosis and high blood pressure. In order develop pharmaceuticals to combat these widespread diseases, researchers at Roche examine the interactions that occur between different metabolic pathways, and specifically target the critical 'switch points' of a disease. Sensitive diagnostic tests enable precise analyses of metabolic processes, and provide a basis for effective treatment.

Vitamin D Test

With the new test for vitamin D, Roche has given the doctors the ability to determine the exact level of this essential vitamin in their patients. And increasing numbers of doctors are availing of this option. This is hardly surprising, given that a vitamin D deficiency can predispose a patient to developing a range of illnesses, including cardiovascular diseases, cancer, muscle weakness, and Alzheimer's disease.

Vitamin D is synthesized in the skin when it is exposed to UV-B light. In the body, vitamin D is then converted into the hormone calcitriol. Calcitriol regulates the expression of several hundred genes, and, as a result, influences many different metabolic pathways.

The design of the vitamin D test represented a huge challenge for the test development team in Penzberg. For one thing, vitamin D is not naturally water-soluble, making it difficult to analyze. For another, it is not easy to separate the vitamin from the binding protein to which it is bound.
The researchers used an innovative method to overcome these difficulties. The result is a test that enables the early detection of vitamin D deficiency and can therefore prevent the development of secondary diseases.

Greater stability in blood glucose determination

When it comes to developing new products, the devil is often in the detail. This certainly proved to be the case during work on the latest generation of blood glucose meters, which use one-step technology. These are monitors with a design similar to a cell phone, which use a needle to take blood from the patient's finger and measure the blood glucose level completely automatically.

To ensure maximum stability of the test system, the test developers in Mannheim wanted to use the chemical properties of NAD. In the past, however, the essential reagent cNAD could only be manufactured using a 14-step synthesis process using an explosive raw material. Researchers in Penzberg were able to come to the assistance of their colleagues in Mannheim. They developed an enzymatic production method that does not rely on the explosive raw material.
In 2012, the collaborative project was awarded the distinction of the Roche Diagnostics Innovation Prize.

New technologies for blood glucose monitoring

In the area of Diabetes Care, Roche develops innovative, integrated systems, such as blood glucose meters, lancing devices and diabetes management solutions, which support patients and healthcare professionals in treatment optimization. Roche Diabetes Care also develops insulin pumps and systems for continuous glucose monitoring (CGM). Accu-Chek Insight (a next-generation insulin pump with integrated blood glucose monitoring) and an innovative micropump are currently in the pipeline. We're also working on a system for continuous glucose monitoring, which uses a small sensor under the patient's skin to continuously measure blood glucose levels in real time. The system is currently in the early stages of development, and the first clinical trials have produced some very promising data.

Stoffwechselstörungen

Accu Chek; Nr. 112

Häufig steckt der Teufel bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte im Detail. Forschern aus Mannheim und Penzberg gelang es gemeinsam für Blutzuckermessgeräte der neuen Generation ein "Problem" zu lösen.

Vitamin D; Nr. 113

Vitamin-D-Mangel kann die Entstehung verschiedener Krankheiten begünstigen. Roche entwickelte einen innovativen Test, der Vitamin-D-Mangel frühzeitig erkennt und damit Folgeerkrankungen zu verhindert.

Störungen im Stoffwechsel können zu den unterschiedlichsten Erkrankungen führen, wie zum Beispiel Diabetes, Arteriosklerose oder Bluthochdruck. Um Medikamente gegen diese weit verbreiteten Volkskrankheiten zu entwickeln, betrachten Roche Forscher das Zusammenspiel der unterschiedlichen Stoffwechselwege – und greifen an den wichtigen Schaltstellen gezielt in das Krankheitsgeschehen ein.
Sensitive diagnostische Tests ermöglichen präzise Untersuchungen des Stoffwechselgeschehens und bilden die Basis für eine effektive Therapie.

Vitamin D Test

Mit dem neuen Vitamin-D-Test gibt Roche den Ärzten die Möglichkeit, den Spiegel dieses lebenswichtigen Vitamins bei ihren Patienten exakt zu bestimmen. Immer mehr Ärzte machen von dieser Möglichkeit Gebrauch. Denn ein Vitamin-D-Mangel kann die Entstehung verschiedener Krankheiten begünstigen, wie zum Beispiel Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen, Krebs, Muskelschwäche und Alzheimer.

Vitamin D wird in der Haut gebildet, wenn sie mit UV-B-Licht bestrahlt wird. Im Körper wird das Vitamin D dann in das Hormon Calcitriol umgewandelt. Calcitriol reguliert die Expression von mehreren hundert Genen und beeinflusst dadurch viele verschiedene Stoffwechselwege.
Für die Penzberger Testentwicklung war die Konzeption des Vitamin-D-Tests eine große Herausforderung. Zum einen ist Vitamin D schwer wasserlöslich und lässt sich daher schwierig analytisch handhaben. Zum anderen ist es an ein Bindeprotein gebunden, von dem es sich nur ungern trennt.
Mit einer innovativen Methodik ist es den Entwicklern gelungen, diese Probleme zu meistern. So ist ein Test entstanden, der es ermöglicht, einen Vitamin-D-Mangel frühzeitig zu erkennen und damit Folgeerkrankungen zu verhindern.

Mehr Stabilität bei der Blutzuckerbestimmung

Häufig sitzt der Teufel bei der Entwicklung neuer Produkte im Detail. So auch bei der Arbeit an einer neuen Generation von Blutzucker-Messsystemen, die mit der One-Step-Technologie arbeiten. Das sind Handy-ähnliche Geräte, die mit einer Nadel Blut aus dem Finger des Patienten aufnehmen und vollautomatisch den Blutzuckergehalt messen.

Um größtmögliche Stabilität des Testsystems zu gewährleisten, wollten die Entwickler am Standort Mannheim die NAD-Chemie nutzen. Das dafür wichtige Reagenz cNAD ließ sich bis dato aber nur in einer 14-stufigen Synthese herstellen – mit einem explosiven Rohstoff. Hilfe bekamen die Mannheimer von ihren Penzberger Kollegen. Sie entwickelten ein enzymatisches Produktionsverfahren, das ohne den explosiven Rohstoff auskommt.
Im Jahr 2012 wurde das gemeinschaftliche Projekt mit dem Innovationspreis von Roche Diagnostics ausgezeichnet.

Neue Technologien für die Blutzuckermessung

Im Bereich Diabetes Care entwickelt Roche innovative, integrierte Systeme, zum Beispiel Blutzuckermessysteme, Stechhilfen sowie Diabetes Management-Lösungen, die Patienten und medizinisches Fachpersonal bei der Therapieoptimierung unterstützen. Ferner entwickelt Roche Diabetes Care Insulinpumpen und Systeme zur kontinuierlichen Glukosemessung (CGM). In der Pipeline befinden sich eine Insulinpumpe der nächsten Generation mit integrierter Blutzuckermessung, Accu-Chek Insight, sowie eine innovative Mikropumpe. Zudem arbeiten wir an einem System zur kontinuierlichen Glukosemessung, das über einen kleinen Sensor unter der Haut des Patienten kontinuierlich die Blutzuckerwerte in Echtzeit misst. Das System ist in der frühen Entwicklung und hat in ersten klinischen Studien vielversprechende Daten geliefert.