Personalized Healthcare in oncology

Personalized Healthcare - Onkology; Nr. 74

Personalized healthcare focuses on the development of treatments tailored to patients with specific types of cancer. A better understanding of gene expression allows customized treatment approaches.

Personalized Healthcare—HER2-positive breast/gastric cancer

Diagnosis followed by treatment with an innovative drug is a typical example of the personalized treatment approach in the case of breast cancer and gastric cancer:
By using special diagnostic tests to determine the amount of HER2 protein in breast or gastric cancer cells, patients who will presumably respond well to an innovative drug specifically targeting the HER2 protein can be reliably identified.


Breast cancer

Breast cancer; Nr. 75

Not all breast cancers are the same. Different factors can play a role in the development and growth of a tumor. HER2 is such a factor. The number of HER2 receptors, a special protein on the surface of breast cancer cells, is significantly elevated in approximately 20 percent of all breast cancer patients.

The protein causes the cells to divide in an uncontrolled manner and to increase rapidly resulting in a very aggressive disease course. With the help of a diagnostic tissue test, the disease-specific biomarker, the HER2 protein, can be detected. As a result, physicians can identify in a targeted manner patients with HER2-positive breast cancer who are suitable for treatment with a specific medication regardless of patient age, tumor size, lymph node involvement, or additional tumor characteristics.

Gastric cancer

Gastric cancer; Nr. 76

Since the beginning of 2010, the innovative drug has been available in the European Union also for the treatment of HER2-positive metastatic gastric cancer. Approximately 16-22% of all gastric tumors have an increased number of HER2 receptors.

With the help of tissue diagnostics, tumors can be characterized and changes can be tracked. Researchers are working intensively to develop increasingly customized treatments for cancer patients.

Personalisierte Medizin in der Onkologie

Personalisierte Medizin - Onkologie; Nr. 74

Personalisierte Medizin konzentriert sich auf die Entwicklung von Therapien, die auf Patienten mit spezifischen Krebstypen abgestimmt sind. Das bessere Verständnis der Gen­expression, ermöglicht maßgeschneiderte Behandlungsansätze.

Personalisierte Medizin - HER-2 positiver Brust-/Magenkrebs

Die Diagnostik und anschließende Behandlung mit einem innovativen Medikament bei Brustkrebs oder Magenkrebs ist ein typisches Beispiel für den personalisierten Therapieansatz:
Durch die Bestimmung der Menge des Proteins HER2 in Brust- bzw. Magenkrebszellen mit speziellen diagnostischen Tests können zuverlässig die Patienten identifiziert werden, die wahrscheinlich auf ein innovatives Medikament, das spezifisch gegen das Protein HER2 gerichtet ist, ansprechen.

Brustkrebs

Brust; Nr. 75

Brustkrebs ist nicht gleich Brustkrebs. Verschiedene Faktoren können bei der Entstehung bzw. beim Wachstum des Tumors eine Rolle spielen. Ein solcher Faktor ist HER2. Bei etwa 20 Prozent aller Patientinnen mit Brustkrebs ist die Anzahl der HER2-Rezeptoren, ein spezielles Eiweiß auf der Oberfläche der Brustkrebszellen, massiv erhöht.
Dies führt dazu, dass sich die Zellen unkontrolliert teilen, übermäßig vermehren und die Brustkrebserkrankung sehr aggressiv verläuft. Mithilfe eines diagnostischen Gewebetests kann der krankheitsspezifische Biomarker – das HER2-Protein nachgewiesen werden. Dadurch können Ärzte gezielt diejenigen Patientinnen mit HER2- positivem Brustkrebs identifizieren, die für eine Behandlung mit einem spezifischen Medikament geeignet sind - und zwar unabhängig vom Alter einer Betroffenen, der Tumorgröße, dem Lymphknotenbefall oder weiteren Tumormerkmalen.

Magenkrebs

Magen; Nr. 76

Das innovative Arzneimittel steht seit Anfang 2010 in der Europäischen Union auch für die Behandlung des HER2-positiven metastasierenden Magenkrebs zur Verfügung. Rund 16 – 22 % aller Magentumoren haben eine erhöhte Anzahl von HER-2 Rezeptoren.

Mithilfe der Gewebediagnostik lassen sich Tumore charakterisieren und ihre Veränderungen verfolgen. Forscher arbeiten intensiv daran für Krebspatienten zunehmend maßgeschneiderte Behandlungen zu entwickeln.