Elecsys reagent bottling plant

Piece-work: Flexible, highly automated filling plants fill more than 100 million reagent bottles each year

Bottling plant
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

A class of our own

Roche is a global leader in the field of in vitro diagnostics. In 2015 alone, 15 billion diagnostic tests were performed using Roche instruments – roughly equating to two tests per person worldwide.

Systematic Diagnostics

In the Roche Diagnostics Operations filling area, bottles are filled with reagents for diagnostic tests. Depending on the product and the amount required, the Roche employees do this by using manual filling devices or flexible, highly automated filling systems. Depending on the intended use, the fill volumes range from 0.5 millilitres to two litres.

Finely tuned to meet global demand

Diagnostics Operations has plants that span around 90,000 square metres in 32 buildings and together fill more than 100 million reagent bottles per year. The reagents are used in medical laboratories worldwide.

Roche Diagnostics is multi-talented

Roche Diagnostics technologies and solutions for in vitro diagnostics not only help you make the right diagnosis but also to identify health risks, predict the course of a disease and make the right treatment decision from the outset.

Diagnostics of (de)central importance

Within its in vitro diagnostics portfolio Roche differentiates between products for centralised and decentralised diagnostics. "Centralised diagnostics" are all diagnostic tests conducted in clinical-chemical or immunological laboratories. Tests for decentralised diagnostics are used in medical practices or directly "on the patient" at home or in a hospital bed.

Two for the heart

The most important parameters in the Elecsys portfolio include two diagnostic tests for heart health. The Elecsys Troponin T hs (TnT-hs) test is used to detect cardiac muscle damage at an early stage. NT-proBNP indicates the level of strain on the heart and helps with the early detection, risk assessment and treatment of heart failure.

"In vitro" – in the glass

"In vitro diagnostics" are diagnostic procedures conducted outside the human body in a laboratory vessel (vitrum = Latin for glass).

Back to production

Photographer: Philipp Wente

Abfüllanlage für Elecsys Reagenzien

Im Akkord: Flexible, hochautomatisierte Abfüllanlagen befüllen mehr als 100 Millionen Reagenzien-Flaschen pro Jahr

Abfüllanlage
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Die Nummer Eins

Roche ist Weltmarkführer in der In-vitro-Diagnostik. Allein 2015 wurden 15 Milliarden diagnostische Tests auf Roche-Instrumenten durchgeführt – umgerechnet sind das weltweit pro Person etwa zwei Tests.

Diagnostik mit Format 

In der Abfüllung von Roche Diagnostics Operations werden Reagenzien für diagnostische Tests in Fläschchen abgefüllt. Je nach Produkt und benötigter Menge setzen die Roche-Mitarbeitenden dafür Handabfüllgeräte oder flexible, hochautomatisierte Abfüllanlagen ein. Die Abfüllmengen reichen – je nach Verwendungszweck – von 0,5 Millilitern bis zwei Litern.

Gut getaktet für den weltweiten Bedarf

Auf insgesamt rund 90.000 Quadratmetern Fläche stehen bei Diagnostics Operations Anlagen in 32 Gebäuden, die zusammen mehr als 100 Millionen Reagenzien-Flaschen pro Jahr befüllen. Die Reagenzien kommen in medizinischen Labors auf der ganzen Welt zum Einsatz.

Die Multitalente von Roche Diagnostics

Roche Diagnostics Technologien und Lösungen zur In-vitro-Diagnostik helfen nicht nur, die korrekte Diagnose zu stellen, sondern auch Krankheitsrisiken zu erkennen, den Krankheitsverlauf vorherzusagen und dafür zu sorgen, dass von Anfang an die richtige Therapieentscheidung getroffen wird.

Diagnostik mit (de)zentraler Bedeutung

Roche unterscheidet innerhalb seines In-vitro-Diagnostik-Portfolios Produkte für die zentrale und die dezentrale Diagnostik. Unter „zentrale Diagnostik“ werden alle diagnostischen Tests in klinisch-chemischen oder immunologischen Laboren zusammengefasst. Tests zur dezentralen Diagnostik kommen in der Arztpraxis oder direkt „am“ Patienten zu Hause oder am Krankenbett zum Einsatz.

Zwei fürs Herz

Zu den wichtigsten Parametern im Elecsys- Portfolios gehören zwei diagnostische Tests für die Herzgesundheit. Der Elecsys Troponin T hs (TnT-hs) Test wird eingesetzt, um Herzmuskelschädigungen im Frühstadium zu erkennen. NT-proBNP ist ein Marker für die Belastung des Herzens und unterstützt Früherkennung, Risikoabwägung und Behandlung bei Herzinsuffizienz.

„In vitro“ – alles im Glas

Unter „In-vitro-Diagnostik“ versteht man die diagnostischen Verfahren, die außerhalb des menschlichen Körpers im Laborgefäß (vitrum = latein: Glas) durchgeführt werden.

Zurück zur Produktion

Fotograf: Philipp Wente