Assay production with Elecsys test reagents

Bestselling product: Somewhere in the world, an Elecsys test reagent is used 50 times each second.


Innovation from Tradition

For 20 years now, the tried and tested Elecsys tests for lab diagnostics have been available. And for almost 20 years, these tests have achieved growth rates in the double digits, making Roche the market leader in immunodiagnostics. What's that? Read more!

What is clinical chemistry diagnostics?

Clinical chemistry diagnostics is the analysis of chemical products that are created in the body through metabolic processes. It is used in pre-eclampsia tests (known as toxaemia of pregnancy in layman's terms) or in heart failure tests, for example.

It's in the mix!

Elecsys test reagents are produced in large mix tanks in the assay production operated by Diagnostics Operations Mannheim. Production employees weigh all the necessary starter materials and mix them. Basic starter materials are purchased from external providers, whereas complex biological ingredients, such as enzymes or antibodies, are produced by Roche themselves at the Penzberg site. Depending on the mixture, this process can take a few hours or up to many weeks, ongoing quality control included.

Elecsys: a bestseller

Somewhere in the world, an Elecsys test reagent is used 50 times each second. That equals approximately one billion tests each year. Elecsys assays have broad measuring ranges. Just a few molecules are enough to produce a reliable result. Elecsys technology is sensitive enough to detect a dissolved sugar cube in Lake Starnberg.

As nimble as a fox and extremely flexible too

The Elecsys principle combines the benefits of optical and biochemical detection methods so that particularly small quantities of substances can be measured. But higher concentrations are no problem for Elecsys either. The technology is nimble to boot: The average measurement time of Elecsys assays is 18 minutes and the maximum measurement time is 27 minutes.

The lock and key principle in immunodiagnostics

Immunodiagnostics follows an important basic principle of the human immune system: development of antibodies against foreign substances (known as antigens). Antibodies bind as exact fits to their antigens. This is known as the lock and key principle. Today, antibodies can be industrially manufactured and used in immunodiagnostics to specifically detect antigens in blood samples.

Elecsys and cobas are the dream team in laboratory medicine

Elecsys test systems are the "software" of modern laboratory medicine. Together with the suitable "hardware", the cobas tool kit system for diagnostics labs, they adapt to fulfil the most varied requirements, and labs can create the right solution to fit their individual needs.

Light years ahead

Elecsys assays use what is known as ECL (electrochemiluminescence) technology, Roche's unique measurement principle. First the test reagents react to the substance to be detected (measurand) in a controlled process, forming a chemical complex. Then more test reagents are added and an electrical voltage is applied to generate a light signal. The higher the concentration of the measurand, the more intense the light signal. This means that "the light goes on" when an analyte is detected in the sample.

Today's huge selection of test systems

Currently there are Elecsys tests for 105 clinical chemistry and immunodiagnostics parameters. At the time the system was introduced in the market there were only 16. These tests help diagnose numerous conditions, for example heart, bone, blood, thyroid, viral and autoimmune diseases, as well as cancer and diseases related to pregnancy, and many more. And the test portfolio continues to grow.

Back to Production

Photographer: Philipp Wente

Assayproduktion mit Elecsys-Testreagenzien

Bestseller: Rund 50 Mal pro Sekunde kommt irgendwo auf der Welt ein Elecsys-Testreagenz zum Einsatz.

Lyophilisator
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

Aus Tradition innovativ

20 Jahre gibt es die bewährten Elecsys-Tests für die Labordiagnostik nun schon – und fast genauso lange verzeichnen die Tests Wachstumsraten im zweistelligen Bereich. Damit ist Roche Marktführer in der Immundiagnostik. Was das ist? Lesen Sie weiter!

Was ist eine klinisch-chemische Diagnostik?

Unter einer klinisch-chemischen Diagnostik versteht man die Analyse von chemischen Produkten, die durch Stoffwechselvorgänge im Körper entstehen. Eine klinisch-chemische Diagnostik wird zum Beispiel bei Tests auf Präeklampsie (im Volksmund auch „Schwangerschaftsvergiftung“ genannt) oder Herzinsuffizienz angewandt.

Die Mischung macht‘s!

In der Assayproduktion von Diagnostics Operations in Mannheim werden die Elecsys-Testreagenzien in großen Ansatzkesseln hergestellt. Die Produktionsmitarbeitenden wiegen alle notwendigen Ausgangsstoffe ein und mischen sie. Einfache Ausgangsstoffe werden von externen Anbietern eingekauft, komplexe biologische Zutaten wie Enzyme oder Antikörper produziert Roche am Standort Penzberg selbst. Dieser Prozess dauert je nach Mischung wenige Stunden bis mehrere Wochen – eine kontinuierliche Qualitätskontrolle inbegriffen.

Bestseller - Elecsys

Rund 50 Mal pro Sekunde kommt irgendwo auf der Welt ein Elecsys-Testreagenz zum Einsatz, das sind rund eine Milliarde Tests pro Jahr. Die Elecsys-Assays haben weite Messbereiche: Bereits wenige Moleküle reichen aus, um ein zuverlässiges Ergebnis zu erhalten. Die Elecsys-Technologie ist so sensitiv, dass sie einen Würfelzucker aufgelöst im Starnberger See nachweisen könnte.

Flink wie ein Wiesel – und dabei äußerst anpassungsfähig

Das Elecsys-Prinzip vereint die Vorteile von optischen und biochemischen Nachweisverfahren. So können damit besonders geringe Substanzmengen gemessen werden. Aber auch höhere Konzentrationen sind für Elecsys kein Problem. Flink ist die Technologie obendrein: Die Elecsys-Assays haben eine durchschnittliche Messzeit von 18 Minuten und eine maximale Messzeit von 27 Minuten.

Da passt der Schlüssel ins Schloss: Immundiagnostik

Die Immundiagnostik macht sich ein wichtiges Grundprinzip des menschlichen Immunsystems zunutze: Die Antikörperbildung gegen körperfremde Substanzen (sogenannte Antigene). Antikörper binden passgenau an ihre Antigene, das bezeichnet man als Schlüssel-Schloss-Prinzip. Antikörper lassen sich heute industriell herstellen und in der Immundiagnostik nutzen, um Antigene in Blutproben spezifisch nachzuweisen.

Elecsys und cobas – das Traumpaar der Labormedizin

Die Elecsys-Testsysteme bilden die „Software“ der modernen Labormedizin. Zusammen mit der geeigneten „Hardware“, dem cobas Baukastensystem für diagnostische Labore, passen sie sich den unterschiedlichsten Anforderungen an und Labore können sich die für ihre Bedürfnisse passende Lösung individuell zusammenstellen.

Um Lichtjahre voraus!

Die Elecsys-Assays arbeiten auf Basis der so genannten ECL-Technologie (ECL steht für Elektrochemilumineszenz) – dem einzigartigen Messprinzip von Roche: Zunächst reagieren die Testreagenzien mit der gesuchten Substanz (Messgröße) in einem kontrollierten Vorgang zu einem chemischen Komplex. Dann wird durch die Zugabe weiterer Testreagenzien und das Anlegen einer elektrischen Spannung ein Lichtsignal erzeugt. Dieses ist umso intensiver, je höher die Konzentration der Messgröße ist. Es geht also „das Licht an“, wenn der Analyt in der Probe nachgewiesen wird.

Riesenauswahl an Testsystemen

Derzeit gibt es Elecsys-Tests für 105 Parameter der klinischen Chemie und Immundiagnostik – bei der Markteinführung waren es gerade einmal 16. Sie unterstützen die Diagnostik zahlreicher Krankheiten, darunter Herz-, Knochen-, Blut-, Schilddrüsen-, Viruserkrankungen, Krebs, Schwangerschafts- und Autoimmunkrankheiten und viele mehr. Und das Testportfolio wächst kontinuierlich weiter.

Zurück zur Produktion

Fotograf: Philipp Wente