Keeping busy:

Our hightech packaging plants can process up to 100 packages per minute

Packing line
.
.
.
.
.
.

Mannheim: the hub for diagnostics production

With around 8,000 employees, Roche’s Mannheim site is the Roche Group’s third largest site and the hub for the global diagnostics business. Not only are many of the products for the world market produced here, but the global distribution centre also ships them to over 170 countries.

Award-winning - including for sustainability

The Modular Production Building Mannheim (MPBM) opened in 2015 was the first industrial production building to receive a platinum certificate from the German Sustainable Building Council as a particularly environmentally friendly and economically efficient building.

The new industrial revolution

Industry 4.0 is the hot topic for industrial companies right now. This is all about using a higher level of digitisation and networking to enhance the efficiency, safety, flexibility and sustainability of processes. Roche too is committed to Industry 4.0, for example with an increasingly networked laboratory and production environment with plants that communicate with one another, as well as to the training and development of its employees, who are accompanying the new industrial revolution.

Safely packaged for their travels

The Diagnostics Operations department in Mannheim not only fills bottles with diagnostic reagents but also packages them, labels them and sends them to laboratories worldwide. The packaging lines work as hard as the filling systems, processing up to 100 packages per minute.

State-of-the-art equipment

The newest packaging plant at the Mannheim site can be found in the Modular Production Building Mannheim (MPBM), which officially opened in 2015. Around 150 Roche employees work in a modern and modularly expandable production area spanning some 14,000 square metres to ensure that reagent solutions and other components required for immunodiagnostic Elecsys tests are filled and prepared for shipping.

Sustainable package inserts

Similarly to drugs, reagents for diagnostic tests come with package inserts. These specify set values for calibrating the reagents and the corresponding controls. In the case of Elecsys reagents, these inserts are now provided digitally. For this purpose, the cassettes are equipped with an RFID chip, which is read by the analyser and references an online database from which customers can simply download the set values. This saves paper, protects the environment and even speeds up the packaging process.

Zurück zur Produktion

Photographer: Philipp Wente

Ganz schön fleißig:

Unsere Hightech-Verpackungsanlagen schaffen bis zu 100 Packungen pro Minute

Verpackungsanlage
.
.
.
.
.
.

Mannheim: Drehscheibe der Diagnostika-Produktion

Roche in Mannheim ist mit etwa 8.000 Mitarbeitenden der drittgrößte Standort des Roche-Konzerns und die Drehscheibe des weltweiten Diagnostika-Geschäftes. Hier werden nicht nur große Teile des Portfolios für den Weltmarkt produziert, sondern über das globale Distributionszentrum auch in mehr als 170 Länder verschickt.

Ausgezeichnet - auch in Sachen Nachhaltigkeit

Das 2015 eingeweihte Modular Production Building Mannheim (MPBM) erhielt als erstes industrielles Produktionsgebäude von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Nachhaltiges Bauen ein Platin-Zertifikat für besonders umweltfreundliches und wirtschaftlich effizientes Gebäude.

Die neue industrielle Revolution

Industrie 4.0“ ist das Thema, das industrielle Unternehmen derzeit umtreibt. Dabei geht es darum, Prozesse durch mehr Digitalisierung und Vernetzung effizienter, sicherer, flexibler und nachhaltiger zu machen. Auch Roche setzt auf Industrie 4.0, etwa mit einer zunehmend vernetzten Labor- und Produktionslandschaft, deren Anlagen miteinander sprechen, und auf die Qualifizierung und Weiterentwicklung seiner Mitarbeitenden, die die neue industrielle Revolution begleiten.

Gut verpackt auf die Reise

Bei Diagnostics Operations in Mannheim werden diagnostische Reagenzien nicht nur abgefüllt, sondern auch verpackt, mit Etiketten versehen und in Labore auf der ganzen Welt verschickt. Wie die Abfüllanlagen, so leisten auch Verpackungsstraßen ganze Arbeit: Bis zu 100 Packungen schaffen sie pro Minute.

Auf dem allerneuesten Stand

Die neueste Verpackungsanlage am Standort Mannheim steht im Modular Production Building Mannheim, kurz MPBM, das 2015 eingeweiht wurde. Auf rund 14.000 Quadratmetern modernster, modular erweiterbarer Produktionsfläche sorgen rund 150 Roche-Mitarbeitende dafür, dass Reagenzlösungen und andere Bestandteile immundiagnostischer Tests der Marke Elecsys abgefüllt und versandfertig gemacht werden.

Nachhaltige Packungsbeilagen

Reagenzien für diagnostische Tests haben – ähnlich wie Medikamente – Beipackzettel. Diese enthalten Sollwerte, die zur Kalibration der Reagenzien und der entsprechenden Kontrollen dienen. Bei den Reagenzien der Marke Elecsys werden diese Beilagen nun digital übermittelt. Dazu ist auf den Kassetten ein RFID-Chip angebracht, der im Analysengerät ausgelesen wird und auf eine Online-Datenbank verweist. So kann der Kunde die Sollwerte online von der Datenbank herunterladen. Das spart Papier, schont die Umwelt und beschleunigt sogar den Verpackungsvorgang.

Zurück zur Produktion

Fotograf: Philipp Wente